American Go E-Journal


Sunday July 11, 2010

China’s twelfth annual Agon Cup is now underway. In the set of first-round matches held Thursday, July 8, Sun Tengyu, Qiu Jun, and Gu Li all won their respective games. Sun Tengyu 4d, the defending Agon champion, defeated Sun Li 4d by resignation; Qiu Jun 8d defeated Meng Li 3d by 2.5 points; and Gu Li 9d defeated Cao Xiaoyang 3d by resignation. The Agon Cup is a blitz tournament in which the Chinese winner faces off against Japan’s Agon Cup title holder in an annual China-Japan Agon Cup game between the two go powers. Last year’s winner was Sun Tengyu, defeating Hane Naoki by 3.5 points.
- JustPlayGo

Categories: World