AGA Professional Results 2014

AGA Professional Results 2014

The tournament was held at Nantasket Beach Resort , January 4-10, 2015.

Players are selected based on performance in one of multiple Preliminaries. They then go on to compete with each other in the Pro Qualification Tournament. The winners of the Pro Qualification Tournament become AGA-Certified Go Professionals.

On This Page

Pro Qualification Tournament
Results and game records


Preliminaries and their winners, confirmed as finalists:
(2) Seeded from 2013 Pro Qualification Tournament: TBA
(1) Seeded from Canadian Open (6/28-7/1): TBA
(2) Seeded from US Go Congress Open Division (August): TBA
(1) Gotham Open: TBA
(1) Cotsen Open: TBA
(1) Online Prelim Tournament (November): TBA

Pro Qualification Tournament


Full Rules

The tournament director shall be the arbiter for this event and whose decision is final. Questions about rules and disputes shall be brought to the tournament director's attention immediately.

All players and alternates must meet the following requirements: 1. Each must be citizens of either the United States or Canada. A copy of proof of citizenship (birth certificate, front page of government-issued passport, naturalization documentation or similar) must be presented prior to participation in the Pro Qualification Tournament. These will be kept on file with the AGA Pro System Committee.
2. Each must have participated in certified qualifying rounds or been invited and passed the requirements for invitation.

There will be two rounds per day. There will be a maximum of ten rounds of play during the finals.

The following outlines the AGA Professional Rules to be used. the Full Rules, when published, supersede this outline:
1. All games will be played by the Complete AGA rules, except as noted below, which take precedence over the Complete AGA rules.
2. All games will be played even (no handicap).
3. Time control: 1:30 main time with 5 periods of 40 seconds overtime. The clocks are not stopped except when needed for meal breaks. The player whose move it is will seal their move with the TD until play resumes. The board will be covered during breaks and neither player may view the board or game record during this time.
4. Japanese style counting will be used for ALL games. The only exception will be in the event of dispute over prisoners when the TD may call for Chinese counting.
5. Players are presumed to understand the use of the “pass stone” in AGA Tournament games and play accordingly. Players are to fill in all dame as appropriate with this rule.
6. Illegal moves: Any illegal move, such as retaking a ko out of turn or playing two moves in a row will result in an immediate FORFEIT.
7. Players choosing to resign should make their decision clear and unambiguous. After resigning, please ensure that the opponent has clearly understood the intention.
Resignation may be indicated by either:
a) placing 2 stones simultaneously on the board, or
b) saying clearly, “I resign”


Preliminary Tournament
The tournament will be played in two parts, a Round Robin Prelim Sunday through Wednesday, followed by the Championship Thursday and Friday. The APQF RRP will be a Round Robin tournament, in which each participant plays each of the other participants exactly once.

  1. Seeding: Players will be seeded into the tournament by their AGA or equivalent rankings. Players will be listed in order from 1 (highest rank) to 8 (lowest rank) with best estimates made for unranked or non-AGA rankings. Seeds from prior years must be interspersed per their ranks and are NOT automatically placed at the top of the list. Every attempt will be made to create a fair and accurate dispersal of players into the initial order. This list will be published prior to the event and any disputes must be made prior to the first round of play.

  2. Pairings: Pairings for each round will be announced 10 minutes prior to the start of each round. All games will be played even and players will draw for color each round.

  3. Standings: The results of the finals will result in one player being promoted to the rank of Professional 1 Dan and two players selected as seeds into next year's finals.

The APQF Championship is a modified single-elimination tournament, whereby one player will emerge with the designation of Professional and two players will be named as seeds for next year's tournament.

  1. Seeding: Players will be seeded into the tournament by their ranking from APQF RRP. This list will be published prior to the first round of the Championship and any disputes must be made prior to the first round of play.

  2. Pairings: Appendix A shows the pairing chart for the Championship. Players are promoted based on the results of MATCHES with opponents. A match may consist of either a Best-of-Three (Bo3), or Best-of-Five (Bo5) competition, as explained in the full rules.


Tournament Director: Jeff Shaevel


Game schedule (Sunday 4th January - Saturday 10th January; Eastern Time):

*Daily - Morning Round: 9:30AM ET - Evening Round: 4:30PM ET/4:00PM ET


Seed Name Current Rating
1 Ryan Li 8.78
2 Eric Lui 8.53
3 Ben Lockhart 7.54
4 Ricky Zhao 7.53
5 Daniel Gourdeau 7.32
6 Yuan Zhou 7.31
7 Matthew Burrall 6.9
8 Jeremy Chiu 6.47



x Ryan Li Eric Lui Ben Lockhart Ricky Zhao Daniel Gourdeau Yuan Zhou Matthew Burrall Jeremy Chiu Standings
Ryan LiX B+7.5 B+r W+4.5 W+r B+21.5 B+r B+r 7-0
Eric Lui xX B+r W+r B+r B+7.5 B+r W+r 6-1
Ben Lockhart x xX W+r W+12.5 W+10.5 W+r W+8.5 5-2
Ricky Zhao x x xX x x B+r x 1-6
Daniel Gourdeau x x x B+rX x x B+r 2-5
Yuan Zhou x x x W+10.5 W+0.5X W+0.5 x 3-4
Matthew Burrall x x x x B+1.5 xX x 1-6
Jeremy Chiu x x x B+r x B+r B+rX 3-4


Seed Player  1 A-D 
best 3
 2 A-D 
best 3
best 5
1 (7-0) flag Ryan Li Li
G2 - Burrall - B+r
G3 - Li - W+r
Pro (1st)

G2 - Li - W+t
G3 - Li - W+r
8 (1-6) flag Matthew Burrall
4 (3-4) flag Jeremy Chiu Chiu
5 (3-4) flag Yuan Zhou
3 (5-2) flag Ben Lockhart Lockhart
6 (2-5) flag Daniel Gourdeau
2 (6-1) flag Eric Lui Lui
7 (1-6) flag Ricky Zhao
Seed (2nd)
Chiu Seed (3rd)

G2 - Chiu - W+r
G3 - Lockhart - W+r
G4 - Lockhart - B+r
Burrall Burrall (5th)

G2 - Burrall - W+r
G3 - Burrall - W+r
Zhou (WD)
Gourdeau Gourdeau
Zhou (WD) (7th)
Zhou (WD)