Welcome to the American Go Association

South Central Go Tournament draws 38 Players from four states

Saturday March 25, 2017

The 2017 South Central Go Tournament was held in Dallas on February 18-19 drew 38 players from four states – 13 in the 2017.03.25_South Central Go TournamentOpen Section and 25 in the Handicap Section. There were six rounds played. In the Open Section, the winner was Bulin Zheng, 6d; second place Muzhen Ai, 7d; third place, Mark Ma, 5d. In the Handicap Section, top band, the winner was Tim Cox, 2k; second place Jeremy Fernandez, 1k; third place Anthony Long, 1k.
- report/photos by Bob Gilman



Ketner and Pitchford Top Davis/Sac Spring tourney

Saturday March 25, 2017

The Davis/ Sacramento Go Club held its Spring Tournament on March 18th at the South Natomas library in Sacramento. 2017.03.25_ketner-pitchfordThere was a good field of eleven players with groups from Reno and the bay area. The Upper Division was won by Jonathan Ketner, 1d (left), with a 3-1 score and Travis Pitchford, 3k (right), also 3-1, lead the Lower Division by a tie break.
- Willard Haynes

New York pros visit Evanston club

Saturday March 25, 2017

New York City-based professionals Ryan Li 1p and Stephanie Yin 1p paid a visit to the Evanston Go Club on Wednesday night,2017.03.25_evanston-IMG_8144 taking time out from their vacation in Chicago. Turnout at the club was higher than usual, with 14 players attending. Li played 6 simuls and Yin played 4.
2017.03.25_evanston-IMG_8146“I asked Stephanie what was the most number of simultaneous games she ever played,” said club president Mark Rubenstein. “Nothing could have prepared me for the answer: 30! Thanks to Ryan and Stephanie for taking time out from their busy schedule to visit our club! Attendance was great, and we even saw some players who had never come to the club before. Special thanks to Simon Guo for making the arrangements.”

Korea’s Park Jeong Hwan 9P wins 2017 World Go Championship, claims “best player” title

Friday March 24, 2017

Staking his claim as the best go player in the world, Park Jeong Hwan 9P of Korea has won the 2017 World Go2017.03.23_park Championship, defeating Mi Yu Ting 9P of China in the final on March 24. In third place was DeepZenGo with one win and Yuta Iyama 9P of Japan took fourth place. Details, including the tournament results table and game records, are here. The Nihon Kiin sponsored the tournament to decide “the best go player in the world.” Park called the opportunity to compete in the tournament “an honor” and said that it was “a good opportunity to improve my skills.”a good opportunity to improve my skills.a good opportunity to improve my skills.think that this is a good opportunity to improve my skills.

Categories: Japan,Main Page

Upcoming Go Events: Cambridge, Berkeley, New Brunswick, Toronto

Monday March 20, 2017

March 25: Cambridge, MA
Boston Spring Open 2017
Neil Ritter ritter.neil@gmail.com

April 1: Berkeley, CA
Bay Area Go Spring Tournament
Jay Chan jay@bayareago.org 909-618-8749

April 1: New Brunswick, NJ
CIRU Regional Go Tournament
Paul Matthews pgmatthews@alumni.stanford.edu 973-992-5675

April 1-2: Toronto, Canada
Toronto Spring Cup 2017
Johhny Lau johnny@torontogoclub.org 416-392-6874

Get the latest go events information.

Categories: Calendar,Main Page

Problem of the Week

Strategic Joseki

Black to play